South Central Oklahoma Workforce Board Local Elected Consortium

Local Elected Officials

The local elected officials (LEOs) have a central role in the creation, implementation and operation of the workforce investment system and work closely with the local workforce board.  The LEOs appoint a Chief Local Elected Official (CLEO) to make decisions unilaterally for the LEOs.  The Chief Local Elected Official for the South Central Oklahoma Workforce Investment Area is Caddo County Commissioner Randy McLemore
  • Appointing board members for the South Central Oklahoma Workforce Board;
  • Calling and chairing any needed meetings of the LEOs;
  • Signing workforce development area documents on behalf of the LEOs;
  • Approving the Workforce Development Board budget;
  • Collaborating with other local boards and CLEOs in preparation and submission of a regional and local workforce plan;
  • Developing and entering into a Memorandum of Understanding concerning the operation of the one-stop delivery system in the local area with the One-Stop Partners;
  • Being involved in defining and establishing skill standards that will drive the request for proposal process and assisting in determining appropriate vendors for the procurement of WIOA funded services;
  • In agreement with the local board designating and certifying a one-stop operator through a competitive process;
  • In partnership with the workforce development board, conducting oversight for the local youth workforce investment activities under Section 129(c) of the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) , local employment and training activities authorized under subsections (c) and (d) of section 134 of the WIOA, and the one-stop delivery system in the local area.
  • Negotiating the performance levels that will be applicable to the local area.

The Consortium for the South Central Oklahoma Workforce Investment Area consists of one county commissioner from each of the eight counties in our area and the mayors from Chickasha, Duncan and Lawton.  Consortium members include:

Commissioner Randy McLemoreCaddo County
Commissioner Johnny Owens

Comanche County
Commissioner Edward EschitiCotton County

Commissioner Ralph Beard    Grady County

Commissioner Ricky Martin   Jefferson County

Commissioner Charles"Shorty" FosterMcClain County 

Commissioner Todd Churchman Stephens County  

Commissioner Jimmie C. SmithTillman County

Mayor Chris MosleyMayor of City of Chickasha

Mayor Ritchie Dennington Mayor of City of Duncan

Mayor Stan BookerMayor of City of Lawton